Skip Navigation

Composition at Peabody


Regarded as among the world's elite training grounds for more than a century, the department of composition at Peabody is one of the most sought after programs of its kind in the world. As a division of The Johns Hopkins University, Peabody takes its place alongside the institution's other internationally renowned centers of research and learning, shaping the role of music in the 21st century.

Current faculty members are among the most honored composers working today. Their works have appeared internationally with major orchestras, ensembles and soloists across the globe, among them the New York Philharmonic, Los Angeles Philharmonic, Cleveland Orchestra, Seattle Symphony Orchestra, Atlanta Symphony, Dallas Symphony, Baltimore Symphony Orchestra; the Minnesota Opera; the London Sinfonietta, String Soloists of the Berlin Philharmonic, Bang on a Can All-Stars, MusikFabrik, So Percussion, and Ensemble Klang; and festival appearances around the world.

They continue the tradition of great composers past who have served on the Peabody faculty over the generations - composers including Henry Cowell, Nadia Boulanger, Elliot Carter, Peter Mennin, Ernst Krenek, Benjamin Lees, Earle Brown, Hugo Weisgall, Jean Eichelberger Ivey, Robert Hall Lewis, George Walker, Moshe Cotel, Chen Yi, Christopher Theofanidis, and Nicholas Maw. The commitment to creating the ideal environment for the composers of tomorrow continues today.

Peabody composition alumni can be found teaching at elite institutions across the United States and abroad, and are regular winners of prestigious fellowships and competitions. Over just the past few years Peabody students have been Fulbright Fellows, Carnegie Hall Commission recipients, the American Composers Orchestra Underwood Commission recipients; participants of the Minnesota Orchestra Readings Program, the Cabrillo Music Festival Program, the Silk Road Project, and the ACO/Nashville Symphony Orchestra Reading Program; and winners of prizes including the American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers top award — the Nissim Prize, ASCAP Morton Gould Young Composer and BMI Student Composer Awards. Alumni of Peabody's composition department are Guggenheim Fellows, Rome Prize Fellows, Barlow Prize and Berlin Prize recipients; recipients of Fromm Foundation Awards, prizes from Darmstadt and Gaudeamus, among many, many others.



Make a Gift